8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A wonderful combination of honey flavored yams and fresh lime juice. I made half the recipe with 3 medium yams (about 2 pounds)and dry baked them for 1 hour. The fresh lime shines as a distinctive flavor instead of being just part of a sweet-sour combination. The sour cream mellowed the acidic bite and added a richness. This is a side dish that would compliment most main courses without the overpowering sweetness of the more typical versions.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac March 20, 2003

We loved the strong lime and honey in this baked and mashed yams.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare November 28, 2011

i liked these, but, as Shelly stated, the lime was really strong - I only used 1 1/2 limes. I think I'm going to retry these but use a different sweetener.. the honey is too strong and bold in here.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amberngriffinco August 05, 2009

These yams are perfect. They are the best. I've been using this recipe on Thanksgiving for some time now, but I've neglected to write a review.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lotusespritman April 26, 2007

Whoa. These are some bold taters. LOL The lime taste was very, very strong. I think it would be better if the lime was more subtle. 3 limes were used for 2 medium-sized potatoes so I think that was a bit much. These are pretty sweet -- almost tastes like a dessert to me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Shelly* February 10, 2005

Great recipe! It was the perfect complement to Teresa's Chicken Piccata #50453. I scaled it in half & skipped the sour cream, otherwise folowed the directions. My yams were long & skinny so they cooked in an hour. Thanx MC!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady January 07, 2005

Mmmm, these were good! I'm a yam fan anyway, but get tired of the "usual" way of preparing them - these were different, easy, and very tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
howmanybites? November 25, 2004

Made this for my Easter dinner and everyone just loved it, very easy to prepare but tastes fantastic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitina April 25, 2003
Baked Yams With Lime and Honey