Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Healthy / Barley & Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barley & Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2003

      This was a very tasty soup, simple and fast to make. I love barley so this recipe caught my eye. I followed the recipe to the letter and I really enjoyed the soup. Thanks for the recipe, PetitFour!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2003

      Delicious, hearty and filling... The fresh rosemary really makes this dish stand out! Full of veggies and lots of fiber; it tastes far less healthy than it really is, LOL! Edited to correct stars (don't know how that happened!) and say that this soup gets better with each day it sits in the fridge!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2003

      This soup was very good, though my husband and I both thought it could use a little more barley (and more broth to compensate, of course). We substituted cayenne pepper for the red pepper flakes, and added about a 1/2 cup of red wine for a little more body.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2004

      M'm! M'm! Good! I followed the suggestions of some of the other reviewers and added extra barley (we love it) and broth (probably about 2/3 to 1/2 a cup more barley and 3+ more cups broth). Terr-ific. I love how healthy and hearty it is and that I always have all these ingredients on-hand. Nice and thick and, as Tracy K said "it tastes far less healthy than it really is." Admittedly, I did not use fresh rosemary but it was still great. The parmesean really makes the dish- I like it with lots! Thank you for posting; this is a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2003

      This soup was very good, I do agree it needs a little more barley and broth. I will make it again, Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2013

      This is a marvelous basic recipe that is fine the way it is. i have tried most of the suggested variations and all have their merits, mostly just for variety. My strongest comment? Fool your dh and dks who still think they dont really like "soup" by making it more stewlike, but little less broth and trick of adding pureed cannellini or almost any white bean to thicken. Also, it is SO GOOD as leftovers, always always make more than double, it says it serves 4, but not not at my house!!! thanks so much for sharing recipe, and helpful comments :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2011

      I love this recipe! My favorite way to make it is to add a tin of crushed Italian tomatoes to the mix. I also add whatever vegetables I have on hand, such as frozen peas or beans, and compensate with some water or extra stock. Always tasty and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      This is excellent. The only thing I did was add my own chicken and broth. Will be making thing again and again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      Very good soup. I love barley but have been looking for ways to use quinoa. Instead of using barley in this recipe, I used 1/2 cup quinoa, lightly toasted. It cooks much faster than barley so I eliminated the first 30 minutes of cooking time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      We really enjoyed this soup! It was easy and yummy. I also added more broth and barley. My hubby really liked it! Thanks so much for sharing!! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      I thought I did review! Found this VERY simple, easy to do, Tasty, healthy as can be! Yes, bit lumpy for this recipe too we like to see!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      This soup was OMG GOOD! The only things I changed: I had to use dried rosemary and I only had small red potatoes on hand. Very, very good. Thank you so much for sharing this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      Excellent! I made some changes and increased the veggies a little....I used 9 cups water, 4 chicken bouillon cubes, 3 celery ribs, 3 carrots and 1/2 a bulb of fennel (leftover in the fridge). I sauteed ALL the ingredients in the olive oil until veggies were tender, added the water and bouillon and simmered for 45 minutes. When barley was cooked, I added one can of pureed cannellini beans to make the soup a little thicker. (It was a great way to hide the beans from picky eaters too! The DH never knew!) I will be making this soup again and again! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      This was GREAT! I've made it many times. I usually double it and add more carrots, celery and onion than is called for in the recipe. I also add a bit more barley. Definitely a family favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2004

      This is an excellent soup.I made no changes other than skipping the butter and adding Italian turkey sausage to Dh's portion. I recommend using a good homemade broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barley & Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (382 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 310.4
     
    Calories from Fat 82
    26%
    Total Fat 9.1 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 1157.3 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 8.0 g
    32%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 13.4 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes