10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

5 Stars, this is my favorite spinach recipe as of today! I used 8 teaspoons of chopped garlic (enough to clear out the end of a cold!), the tomatoes woke up the taste, the almonds added a mellow crunch, and the parmesan cheese added to the "yum" factor. We used to drive to Sabatino's in Little Italy in downtown Baltimore MD to have "Spinach a la Ralph"; this recipe reminds me of that dish. Maybe this recipe could serve 4 vegetable-shy people, but DH and I would fight over this amount of sauteed spinach. Served with Potato Purée With Hazelnut Oil #330028 and spicy fried chicken, a yummy dinner. Thanks for posting this winner! Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL October 15, 2008

Very good. Love the addition of the almonds. Increased the garlic and tomato a good deal. Will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl December 28, 2009

This is fabulous! I am a huge fan of spinach and ate nearly the whole batch myself. The almonds add a nice crunch, the tomato a beautiful color, and the parmesan a nice kick. Thanks for postin!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus October 19, 2008

Very yummy. We doubled the tomato, and used fresh heirlooms, which really brought this dish over the top (I would not recommend using canned). I agree with other reviewers, the two of us easily ate the two small side dish portions this recipe yielded.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito October 25, 2014

I was looking for something different to do with spinach tonight and came across this recipe. It turned out nice. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas January 30, 2011

This was a great recipe, very fresh and natural tasting! I added a can of pinto beans to make it a meal. Very tasty, thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookingTimeForMe June 20, 2009

We loved this saute of fresh spinach! The cheese and garlic were just enough flavor without overpowering the other ingredients. We will have again as the family loved it! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LouLouIzSpoiled February 07, 2009

This was a colorful, fresh-tasting side dish. It didn't have as much flavor as I expected. I followed the recipe exactly except for substituting pine nuts for the almonds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
appleydapply February 03, 2009

What a beautiful side dish to serve. Flavor was all there too. I doubled this so I had some left to take to work. If you like spinach, you will love this. thanks for sharing. Made for I Recommend Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ October 26, 2008

I love spinach, I thoroughly enjoyed yet another way to prepare this versatile vegetable. Quick and easy and lots of flavour, I served it as a side-dish with roast lamb. Thanks Olivia Marie! Made for PAC Spring 2008

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth April 21, 2008
Olivia's Garlic Spinach Sauté