Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Healthy / Soy Sauce Substitute With Very Low Sodium Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Soy Sauce Substitute With Very Low Sodium

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 23, 2008

      This isn't bad. I made a 1/4 recipe as a test and I'm pleased with the result. It's not soy sauce but it doesn't have all of that salt either. The best I can do to describe the taste is a sweet and sour .......sorta, lol. To be honest I wasn't in love with the spoon taste but when used on a veggie stir fry on rice it was a very respectable soy sub and a whole lot healthier. It's not at all difficult to make but does require the sitting time. I suspect that it could be started early in the morning and finished just before dinner and be just fine. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2011

      Not really a copycat recipe since it tastes different than soy sauce, but because it's healthier and low in sodium it's a pretty good substitute. I used it to complete a Beef Stirfry and really enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      This does NOT taste anything like soy sauce but it's still pretty darn good. I use it generously to make a sort of hot and sour ramen noodle soup, using the Oriental Ramen Seasoning Copycat recipe from this site (throw the spice packet that comes with the noodles away) , a few drops of sesame oil and a 1/4 cup of frozen peas. Delish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      I cut this back to a 1/4 cup and tried a blind test with the DM (she is a salt freak but not allowed to due to heart and kidney problems). I defrosted and baked Easy Krab Egg Rolls (Baked Low-Fat) and let her have some of these trying out our regular soy and the substitute, she preferred the substitute and so did I but then I am not a huge salt fan and don't normally add salt to my cooking or at the table, so you can guess what the DM will have in future though for dipping I'll stick to a sweet chilli. Thanks KateL for a great recipe (will make full version next time - got use up that molasses), made for Please Review My Recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      This is a great substitute to help lower your sodium intake! I must admit I like soy sauce taste better, but this is a great replacement that I can use instead so I don't consume so much sodium. We eat rice with soy sauce added almost every day here in Asia, so this is great for us! Thanks KateL! Made for 1-2-3 Zaar Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      This is a great substitute but differently not the real thing. I found it easy to prepare and I always have the ingredients on hand. Thank KateL for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      This is a very good substitute. Takes time but worth it. Thanks KateL. Made for Newest Zaar Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2012

      I think this has great flavor akin to soy sauce. We are on a low-sodium diet so this really intrigued me and I'm so glad I tried it. Thanks, KateL! Made for PAC Fall 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Soy Sauce Substitute With Very Low Sodium

    Serving Size: 1 (31 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 29.9
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    10%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes